Small Victories: Quitting Smoking

I have an announcement to make… It’s been an official two months since my husband quit smoking! I know it’s a process, and maybe I won’t fully believe he’s quit for good once it’s been like a year maybe, but for now I’m just really happy.

SMALL VICTORY: QUITTING SMOKING

FINANCIAL IMPLICATION: $1348+

I met my husband twelve years ago, when we were only sixteen. We were only babies in my mind, but he was already a smoker. Through the years he always said he could quit if he wanted to, but that he didn’t yet want to. (Uh huh.)

I never wanted to nag him about it, knowing that if the decision wasn’t born from within himself, it wouldn’t work. BUT I knew there would come a time when I’d have to put my foot down. In the back of my mind, that time would be the day I became pregnant.

But there I was sitting, one day in August (not pregnant), and out of the blue he says, “I want to go buy one of those e-cigarette things. Will you come with me?” Well you’d better believe I dropped what I was doing that instant and we headed out the door.

We bought an e-cigarette starter kit, which cost about $98. Since then all he’s had to buy has been the liquid that becomes vaporized and some coils. Since the initial purchase we’ve spent just under $80 or so on liquid and coils. Considering he would have spent at least $186 in those two months on buying cigarettes (one pack every other day at about $6/pack), I consider this a pretty great small victory.

The financial implication of this really hit me when we went through our insurance open enrollment period last week. Because I was able to claim him as a “nonsmoker” I got a $660 credit for the year.

Previously he spent at least $1068 on cigarettes each year (an expense I had DEFINITELY forgotten to factor into our finances when we got married), and now it seems with the e-cigarettes he will only spend about $380 per year. This is a difference of $688 per year, plus the $660 insurance bonus, looks like we’re $1348 ahead.

I also feel the need to mention the health benefits here. I know e-cigarettes are really new, and so there isn’t any long term research available yet. But what I do know is that these things are pretty much nicotine and not much else. Like the nicotine patches or gum. There are some studies out that say e-cigarette toxicants can be 450 times lower and WebMD says e-cigarettes can be less harmful than real cigarettes but who knows.

My point is, I know the illnesses associated with smoking can be really expensive in the long run, and so the long term financial benefits of having quit smoking are bigger than just the cost of the cigarettes themselves. I mean, I know something else might ail him, or me, or any of us at any time (my dad died of cancer twenty years after having quit smoking), but hey. This is a really positive step in our lives.

I really like this infographic from the Australian government:

wpid-smoking_health_benefits_male.jpg

3 thoughts on “Small Victories: Quitting Smoking

  1. This is awesome news! My dad smoked for years and years. He tried everything to quit – patches, hypnosis, you name it! What worked? Him just deciding to do it. Threw his cigarettes off the bridge and was done. And while I wasn’t privy to specific financial information – I know our life changed after that. We took vacations. Christmas was a little nicer. It made a difference!

    Like

    • Yes! I don’t know what clicked in his mind (it’s too soon for me to start picking it apart–don’t want to jinx it!) but I’m just thankful for his resolve. He’s doing great! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Why Now, Cavities?! | SmashOdyssey

Comment here.

