Liebster Award!

Liebster-Award

I couldn’t be more honored that dear Kara of The Daily Whisk nominated me for a Leibster Award–over a month ago.

I hope you’ll forgive me for taking this long to respond… maybe you heard that I just moved across the country and started a new job? 😛

How did you decide on the name of your blog? About a year ago, my friend Grace and I started the blog SmashTable. It’s meant to be cooking and crafting, because that’s what we love to do. We liked “smash” as a play on “smashing” and “smashed”–haha. And so when I decided to document my financial journey, I wanted to keep “smash”, and I felt like I was embarking on a deep-space odyssey, so SmashOdyssey came into being.

Where does your blogging inspiration come from? I don’t know if I’d say I’m naturally “frugally-minded” but I am without a doubt “financially-minded” and when something happens of financial significance along this journey, I want to make note of it, here.

What is it that you love most about blogging? At first, what I loved most was feeling less alone on this odyssey. Now, I love being your friend.

What is your favorite food? Sushi. My husband and I used to write kind of a comedic sushi blog, reviewing every new sushi place we tried–but it kind of died out because we always stick to our favorite places, and therefore don’t end up going to new sushi places very often at all.

What is your favorite thing to drink? Iced tea (unsweet).

What is an item you cannot live without? I can live without it, but I sure do love my Keurig.

What are eleven random facts about yourself?

  • I’m a little obsessed with license plates. If we’ve been friends and I’ve seen/been in your car, I probably know your license plate number.
  • I’m not really a sweets kind of person. Give me, breads, cheeses, pastas, sauces, crackers any day. It’s easy for me to pass up candies and cookies and chocolates. My mom says that this is because she started me on vegetables as a baby (instead of fruits).
  • I’m really good at controlling my dreams. I almost always realize when I’m dreaming, and then I take the reigns. It’s pretty fun.
  • My husband and I started dating when we were 16 and 15, respectively. We’re fast approaching the mark of when we will have known each other for more years than not have known each other.
  • I’m an only child, and love hearing about people’s siblings/sibling stories/sibling relationships.
  • I was a year-round competitive swimmer until I went to college. It was the only sport I ever really enjoyed or excelled at. When I got to college, everyone on the swim team was like… an Olympian (no, really), and I was nowhere near that level, so I just kind of quit competing. But I still love swimming laps.
  • I love to sing, classical music. I started taking voice lessons when I was a kid, and continued taking lessons until really recently. I did a lot of community musical theatre as a teenager, and love musical theatre, and was in the opera program in college. I’ve sung for many weddings, funerals, and first communions–and would love to be a regular cantor for a church. (Maybe now that I have a “normal” life schedule, I’ll be able to.)
  • I grew up bilingual. Even though both of my parents are Mexican, from the time I was born, my dad spoke to me in English, my mom in Spanish. I never knew I was speaking two languages, though I do remember thinking “this is the way mom talks, this is the way dad talks.” And I distinctly remember the day I realized they could understand each other. I probably was not yet 5. Blew my mind. When I went off to kindergarden, they switched me to Spanish-only at home, knowing I’d get English everywhere else.
  • I guess because of that, I’ve always loved languages and linguistics. I’m also fluent in French and German. Shameless plug: My linguistics blog was my first blog-baby and I still love it.
  • I’ve never been stung by a bee. And so, I’m really afraid of bees. I think if one just stung me, I’d get it over with, and it’d be fine–but until then, I hate them!
  • I am a really, super, huge fan of Cirque du Soleil. I’ve seen 12 of their shows–some of them several times, and hope to keep seeing more. I’m not a huge fan of many things (meh to sports, TV shows, makeup, purses, whatever)–but Cirque du Soleil, I love.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? I’ve really loved living in New Orleans, and Ireland.

If you could meet anyone from history, dead or alive, who would it be? Michael’s dad. He died when Michael was a kid, and I wish I could have gotten to know him.  I have a hunch they’re a lot alike.

What is your favorite outdoor activity? Anything on the water… white water rafting, tubing, swimming 🙂

Where do you see yourself in five years? I hope to continue growing my career with VW; hope to own a home–maybe here in New Jersey; hope to have some children soon once all this debt is paid off 🙂

Because I’m new on the block, I don’t know if you’ve been nominated before, but I’d like to nominate Femme of Femme Frugality, C of The Single Dollar, and Kay of the Barefoot Minimalist to participate!

INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW NOMINEES OF THE LIEBSTER AWARD:

If you choose to accept the award, please do the following:

Write a post about the fact that you’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award.
In this post, link back to and show some love to the person who nominated you as well as nominate other new blogs that would not have more than 1000 followers. Let these nominated bloggers know that you have nominated them and provide a link back to your page to ensure that they are familiar with the Award.
Display the Award in your post and in your side bar.
Answer the questions about yourself.
Put your post with your nominated blogs for the Liebster Award on social media. Spread the love!
Here are your questions:

How did you decide on the name of your blog?
Where does your blogging inspiration come from?
What is it that you love most about blogging?
What is your favorite food?
What is your favorite thing to drink (alcoholic or not)?
What is an item you cannot live without?
What are eleven random facts about yourself?
If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
If you could meet anyone from history, alive or dead, who would it be?
What is your favorite outdoor activity?
Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Thanks again, Kara! 🙂

19 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. Wow I learned so many cool things about you!! I have no idea you were a competitive swimmer and could sing so well. I wish I could sing better. I’m so-so, meaning I can carry a tune, but the quality of my voice. eek! I also think it’s so cool you can speak so many languages fluently. On those two notes, I wish there were more music programs and foreign language classes that were mandatory at a younger age.

    Like

  2. Thanks for participating. That post was FULL of fun facts about you! I’m super impressed that you are fluent in four languages! That’s amazing!

    Like

  3. Aw, thanks Chela. That is so sweet of you. I don’t think I could answer those questions half as interestingly as you did! Man, you’ve done it all! Close anyway. I had to giggle at the bee thing. I’ve been stung about a half dozen times in my lifetime, and none were fun. I got “boob stung” twice on a road trip once. Stupid thing got down my shirt and I was in such pain and didn’t know why. We pulled over and I got out of the car and it fell out of my shirt. I took my foot and smooshed it, just as Rod was coming around to see what kind of bee it was. Well, kind of hard to tell at that point. I could send you a bee in a box. By the time it gets to you, it would be pretty pi**ed off and sting whoever opens the box. Then the fear would be gone. 🙂 Hmmm, now I’m betting you’ll want to take that nomination back. 😛 Thanks again, Chela. 🙂 And BTW, those were the most interesting and entertaining answers I’ve ever seen to those questions! You have led one interesting life, that’s for sure! 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow! So many good insights into you here! I’m with you – give me bread, not chocolate. In actually a salt fiend. My first language was apparently German (we lived in Germany). I would mix my sentences all up with English and German, never understanding there was a difference. My mom didn’t speak German, so she said it was pretty frustrating!

    Like

  5. Such fascinating answers! I’m so impressed that you’re fluent in Spanish, French and German! And jealous, haha. Even though I always did very well in school, I’m struggling with learning French since moving abroad, which hasn’t made the transition any easier. I really wish I had grown up bilingually!

    Like

    • But don’t you think it’s easier in Europe to study it, and practice, and be immersed? I’m jealous of all the places you can hop around and visit on a whim regardless of the language! 🙂

      Like

  6. I love the story behind the blog name! That’s awesome about swimming, but too bad things got so crazy in college. You’d probably laugh if you saw me in a pool. :p I’m going to check out that linguistics blog… Total language nerd here!

    Like

  7. whoa, I am fascinated by all of the info in here! The swimming, for example, that’s super cool. I am not a big fan of swimming, so really respect those that can do it!
    Also, the Spanish and English thing, that’s so fun the way you separated them out as a kid and had a light bulb moment. I love languages but definitely do not have any natural talent for them, so I am jealous of everyone who is multi lingual.

    Like

    • Thanks for reading! Yeah, the way some people go for a run, I love going for a swim to clear my head. But man, I definitely respected the level the collegiate swimmers were at. They were amazing.

      Like

  8. Omg I love you even more after reading this post….I am also a crazy person with license plates and have always been this way. I remember being like 8 or 9 and knowing my friends’ Moms’ license plate numbers even when my friends didn’t. It was always a running joke and is something that has stuck with me through the years. I thought I was the only weirdo that was license plate obsessed haha!!

    Like

Comment here.

