Holly Is Awesome! (And Why I’m Getting TWO New Credit Cards!)

Well, folks, if I were to tell you I’m getting two new credit cards, you’d probably knock me upside the head and tell me to get it together.  Credit cards are what got me into this debt mess, and I need to stay far, far away from them until they’re paid off, or maybe forever.

THE FIRST CARD IS KIND OF LIKE CHEATING

In my new fancy job, I get to have a corporate travel card!  It’s a shiny new AmEx and it came in the mail today.  I almost felt guilty opening the envelope, calling in to activate the card, and tucking it away in my wallet.

The good news is that I’m only authorized to use this card for corporate travel, and it immediately gets expensed and paid for by the company.  And the payment history positively impacts my credit history.  Easy peasy.

THE SECOND CARD IS THE GOOD ONE

Enter Holly. 🙂 You know her from ClubThrifty fame, and you know she’s awesome at travel hacking.  She basically travels for free all the time, and I aspire to be her when I grow up one day–and that involves having good rewards cards, and paying them off in full each month.

Since I’m going to be flying home regularly, I figured there would be no harm in asking Holly if there was a particular card she’d recommend in my situation.  I already have the funds set aside to go home monthly, and had initially planned to pay for the travel with my debit card.

Holly offers free Travel-For-Free Coaching and she was as kind as anyone you’d ever want to talk to.  I was on the fence about getting a general card with travel rewards, or an airline-specific card.  The downside to getting an airline-specific card is that I’d have to stick to that one airline for flights, even if flights on other airlines were cheaper.

Holly recommended I get a card with travel rewards, more specifically the Chase Sapphire Preferred card.  I will use this card only to pay for flights home, and can therefore easily pay it off in full each month.  Here’s a summary of the benefits they offer:

image001

So yes–getting new credit cards is dangerous territory for me, but I think I have good plans in place to use these two responsibly.  Many thanks to Holly for being so awesome and holding my hand while walking me through this process!  I was so nervous!

Have you gotten new credit cards lately?  What’s your favorite card for travel rewards?

13 thoughts on “Holly Is Awesome! (And Why I’m Getting TWO New Credit Cards!)

  1. Yay for Holly! You are really working your blogging connections 😉 Go you! And I love that your work AmEx will just help your credit history. It’s like a teeny tiny raise.

    Like

  2. That’s the same one Holly recommended for me. Unfortunately, I waited just slightly too long before looking into this stuff. I wouldn’t have gotten the rewards in time to send either me to FinCon or my husband to Seattle so he can see friends while I’m having fun).

    Next year, I’m going to get started in the winter or spring at the latest. I want those free points!

    Like

    • The Chase Sapphire Preferred is basically the best card out there right now and it’s also the most versatile. It works for everyone, even if you have no plans to travel and just want hundreds of dollars in gift cards. I would definitely plan ahead – that always helps!

      Like

  3. I’ve been thinking about getting a travel card, but I’m not sure I could spend enough on it to get the points I need to be able to travel for cheap/free. #firstworldproblems 🙂

    Like

  4. As a general rule my husband and I pay cash for most purchases. We, like you, only put large purchases on credit cards and ONLY if we have the money in our account to turn around and pay it off right away.

    Like

Comment here.

