You Are My Sunshine

Did you know that Louisiana’s state song is “You Are My Sunshine”?  It’s true!  This is only one of so many quirky things I love about my home state.  Also, Michael and I are big fans of the Big Easy Rollergirls and, at the start of each bout, instead of singing the national anthem, they sing You Are My Sunshine, and Michael and I love singing it to each other.  All the time.

_you_are_my_sunshine__by_katherinebaker

And so it’s a great honor to have been nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award by my dear friend, Kay.  She’s an absolute burst of sunshine in this corner of the internet, and I feel lucky to call her my friend.

Here are the questions she asked me:

#1 What is the best thing that has happened to you so far in 2015? – That’s a tough one.  It’s been a year of a lot of change and ups and downs.  I’d have to say the best thing that happened to me so far this year was Michael being able to take the relocation road trip with me from NOLA to NJ, and stay here with me for 5 weeks.  It’s been a tough transition, and I’m so so happy he was able to be here with me.

#2 How old were you when you left home for good and why? – 15.  I went to this awesome boarding school for academically gifted high school juniors and seniors.  That’s where I met Cat (aka. BudgetBlonde)!  So I moved away the summer after my sophomore year of high school.  I of course still visited my parents in the summers, but after high school was college, and then roommates, and now marriage.  Despite being really close with my parents, I’ve always been an independent lady and I’ve never been afraid to be on my own.

#3 What’s your favorite time of day and why? – Man, these are all tough!  I’d have to say first thing in the morning, when I first wake up.  That hazy feeling between dreaming and being awake–I love to savor it.  I hit snooze on the alarm but try to stay in that luxurious in-between head space for as long as possible.

shakira_loca_roller_skates_barcelona Ivanka-Trump-went-trick--treating-her-daughter

#4 Who is your favorite celebrity crush of all time? – This might sound crazy but I don’t really have celebrity crushes??  Um, like a hot guy I’d want to be with?  Nothing about being with a stranger is appealing to me…  Sorry.  This one’s weird.  Can we just say Ivanka Trump?  She’s my woman crush.  She’s brilliant and strong and beautiful and I love everything about her.  I want to be her.  Oh, and Shakira.  I think I’d love to be friends with that weirdo.

17a49d2f17da86b5b3dff4d1d49fe15c#5 If you could live the life of anyone in the world for just one day, who would it be? – I thought long and hard about this one.  I’m a huge fan and it’s always been my backup plan dream to be a singer for Cirque du Soleil.  So if I could be someone for a day, it’d be a CdS singer.  I’d love to be a part of the backstage, costuming, makeup, rehearsing, everything.

I’d like to pay it forward and nominate Tonya from Budget and the Beach, Christine of The Wallet Diet, and Jordann of My Alternate Life.  These ladies always bring sunshine into my life.

Questions for you:
1- What’s been your favorite job/odd job?
2- If you could take any one random course (academic or otherwise) what would it be?
3- What’s your favorite sport/event to watch in the Olympics?
4- What’s been your favorite concert/theatrical performance you’ve attended?  Did it move you?
5- Of all the places you’ve traveled to, where have you met the most interesting people?

Here are the rules:
Thank the person that nominated you.
Answer the questions from the person that nominated you.
Answer the questions from the person that nominated you.
Nominate some other bloggers for this award.
Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you have nominated.
Notify the bloggers you have nominated.

Thanks again, Kay!

10 thoughts on “You Are My Sunshine

  1. Oh my word! I had no idea you knew Cat!! That is such a fun fact 🙂 And now I have “You Are My Sunshine” stuck in my head!

    Our pediatrician’s office gives out age-appropriate books for well-child visits and the most recent one was a book that had those lyrics 😉

    Like

  2. Thanks for the nomination! I had no idea that you met Cat in high school. Uh yeah that is one high school I would for sure never be in. Me? Academically gifted (especially in math and science)? LOLOLOLOLOL! Cirque du Soleil is so amazing! I could see how you would want to be a part of that.

    Like

Comment here.

